bayh College of Education

FACULTY AND STAFF DIRECTORY

Department of Elementary, Early, and Special Education

Address:
Department of Elementary, Early, and Special Education
Bayh College of Education, University Hall, Room 218
Indiana State University
Terre Haute, IN 47809

Phone: 812-237-2840
Fax: 812-237-8208
Email: diana.quatroche@indstate.edu

Office Hours:
8:00AM-4:30PM; Monday-Friday

Diana Quatroche

Diana Quatroche

Department Chairperson
Professor

Ph.D., University of Pittsburgh
Research Interest: Reading Specialist Programs

Office: UH 218B
E-mail: diana.quatroche@indstate.edu
Phone: (812) 237-2821
Fax: (812) 237-8208


Dr. Kathy Bauserman

Kathryn Bauserman

Associate Professor
Ph.D., Ball State University
Research Interest: Early Literacy, Reading, Writing, Metacognition, and Diversity

Office: UH 329D
E-mail: kathryn.bauserman@indstate.edu
Phone: (812) 237-2853
Fax: (812) 237-8208


Kevin Bolinger

Kevin Bolinger

Associate Professor
Ph.D., Indiana State University
Research Interest: Professional Development Schools, Social Studies Teaching Methods

Office: UH 309C
E-mail: kevin.bolinger@indstate.edu
Phone: (812) 237-2884
Fax: (812) 237-8208


Robin Burden

Robin Burden

Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of South Carolina

Research Interests: Improving educational outcomes for students using Differentiated Instruction, Universal Design for Learning and Assistive Technology; the impact of changes in special education law on classroom results; and improving online instruction.

Office: UH 328A
E-mail: robin.burden@indstate.edu
Phone: (812) 237-8728
Fax: (812) 237-8208


Dean Hill-Clarke

Kandi Hill-Clarke

Dean
Professor

Ed.D. University of Memphis

Research Interests: Elementary Literacy, Content Literacy, Family Literacy, and Teacher Education redesign.

Office: UH 109B
E-mail: kandi.hill-clarke@indstate.edu
Phone: (812) 237-2919
Fax: (812) 237-4348


Gail Gottschling

Gail Gottschling

Director, Early Childhood Education Center
Assistant Professor

M.A., Pacific Oaks College

Research Interests: Ways to support English Language Learners and their families, and Environmentally Friendly Early Childhood Environments

Office: UA2
E-mail: gail.gottschling@indstate.edu
Phone: (812) 237-2547
Fax: (812) 237-8208


Rebecca Hinshaw

Rebecca Hinshaw

Associate Professor
Ph.D., Indiana University

Research Interests: UDL, Differentiated Instruction, co-teaching and research in areas to support practicing teachers in inclusive settings

Office: UH 327C
E-mail: rebecca.hinshaw@indstate.edu
Phone: (812) 237-2846
Fax: (812) 237-8208


Dr. Jim Jacobs

James Jacobs

Professor
Ph.D., George Peabody College for Teachers
Research Interest: Emotional Disturbance, Law and the Handicapped, Instructional Procedures, and Behavior Management

Office: UH 328C
E-mail: james.jacobs@indstate.edu
Phone: (812) 237-3585
Fax: (812) 237-8208


Debra Knaebel

Debra Knaebel

Instructor
Ph.D., Indiana State University
Research Interest:  Reading, Elementary Education and Student Perceptions  

Office: UH 332C
Email: Debra.Knaebel@indstate.edu
Phone: (812) 237-2587
Fax: (812) 237-8208


Dr. Marylin Leinenbach

Marylin Leinenbach

Associate Professor
Ph.D., Indiana State University
Research Interest: Multiple Intelligences

Office: UH 329A
E-mail: marylin.leinenbach@indstate.edu
Phone: (812) 237-2847
Fax: (812) 237-8208


Karen Liu

Karen Liu

Professor
Ph.D., Michigan State University
Research Interest: Cultural Awareness, Cross-Cultural Learning,
Diversity and Pedagogy, Parent-Teacher Interaction, Distance Learning, Learning Styles, National Board for Professional Teaching Standards

Office: UH 310C
E-mail: karen.liu@indstate.edu
Phone: (812) 237-2856
Fax: (812) 237-8208


Dr. Melissa Nail

Melissa Nail

Associate Professor
Ph.D., Mississippi State University
Research Interest: Parent Involvement, Technology Infusion in Education, Student Achievements

Office: UH 326B
E-mail: melissa.nail@indstate.edu
Phone: (812) 237-2848
Fax: (812) 237-8208


Dr. Yong Joon Park

Yong Joon Park

Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University at Buffalo
Research Interest: Early Childhood/ Early Childhood Special Education, Computer Education, and Mathematics Education

Office: UH 332B
E-mail: yongjoon.park@indstate.edu
Phone: (812) 237-7892
Fax: (812) 237-8208


Dr. Pat Wheeler

Patricia Wheeler

Professor
Ph.D., Southern Illinois University - Carbondale
Research Interest: Integration of Language Arts with Subject Matter Content Areas (esp. Science, Social Studies), Multiple Intelligences, Learning Style Identification, Team Learning Strategies for teachers in Reading and Language Arts, Children Reading and Writing for Theater

Office: UH 329B
E-mail: pat.wheeler@indstate.edu
Phone: (812) 237-2851
Fax: (812) 237-8208


Dr. Beth Whitaker

Beth Whitaker

Professor
Ph.D., Indiana State University
Research Interest: Language Arts (Reading, Writing, Emergent Literacy), Educational Leadership, School Culture and Climate, Pre-service Teacher Education, Innovative Pedagogy

Office: UH 329C
E-mail: beth.whitaker@indstate.edu
Phone: (812) 237-2855
Fax: (812) 237-8208


Yvonne Huffman

Yvonne Huffman

Administrative Assistant

Office: UH 218A
E-mail: yvonne.huffman@indstate.edu
Phone: (812) 237-2801
Fax: (812) 237-8208


Jan Krackenberger

Jan Krackenberger

Administrative Assistant

Office: UH 218A
E-mail: jan.krackenberger@indstate.edu
Phone: (812) 237-2821
Fax: (812) 237-8208